Youth Code announces new 7″, North American tour with Skinny Puppy happening now


Hardcore EBM outfit, Youth Code, returns with an even harsher stab at their signature industrial sound with the new single: Anagnorisis. With producer Rhys Fulber (Front Line Assembly) at the studio helm, Youth Code come out swinging harder than ever. “Anagnorisis”, backed by “Shift of Dismay”, are just the tip of the iceberg for the pair as they push forward with their upcoming sophomore full length album on Dais Records in 2016.

Born in 2012 out of a Los Angeles bedroom, Youth Code is the creation of Sara Taylor and Ryan George. The band made their spontaneous live debut at LA-based record store Vacation Vinyl’s employee showcase. Word of the incendiary live performance quickly spread and was followed by release of the well-circulated, coveted, Demonstrational Cassette which saw the band hone their semi-improvised initial set into something altogether more muscular and lean.
Soon after, Youth Code was invited to release a limited edition 7 inch single with the legendaryGenesis P-Orridge’s label, Angry Love Productions. The single quickly sold out and saw the band receive praise from industrial heavyweights including Skinny Puppy and Front Line Assembly. Shortly after the single’s release, the band signed on with label Dais Records to release their 2013 self-titled full length, which was met with widespread critical praise from outlets as far ranging as Pitchfork, FACT Magazine and MetalSucks.
In 2014, Dais saw through the release of their much anticipated EP, A Place to Stand, which featured remixes by Silent Servant, Clipping, God Module and Sanford Parker.
In 2013, Youth Code brought their brand of Industrial to audiences all over the US on supporting gigs with AFI, Nothing, The Body, Suicide Commando and a stint at SXSW that had Tucson Weekly call Youth Code the, “Best Surprise of the Festival”. 
Regarding the SXSW performance, The LA Times added, “The band [Youth Code] is a perfect balance of muscular synth drums, white-noise analog pulses and singer Sara Taylor’s defiant shrieks. It’s harsh stuff, but never less than riveting to watch, and a perfect rebuttal to a festival that looks ever more like a [sic] A-list party than a place to truly hear something new. Thank God Youth Code was there to fix that at the end.” Finishing out 2014, Youth Code embarked on the now infamous Eye vs. Spy Tour with industrial legends Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly and Haujobb.
Anagnorisis is long awaited preview to their upcoming album which will be available in both limited black & clear vinyl editions through Dais Records, as well as a special “clear smoke” edition only available from Youth Code during the Fall 2015 tour with Skinny Puppy.


Dolores Haze’s Brand of Overdriven lo-fi Punk


“Their constantly changing dynamism is part of what makes Dolores Haze such a captivating act to follow”- The Line Of Best Fit

“Dolores Haze have au aura about them, an un-f**kwithable attitude that makes them a force to be reckoned with”- Stereogum

“’Touch Me’ is a track that’ll effectively plunge you into the middle of your very own imaginary montage”- Noisey

Swedish music is unstoppable nowadays… Producing world-class acts after acts, from Lykke Li, Icona Pop and Robyn, it’s no surprise their latest addition, in the shape of Dolores Haze, brings top quality yet again. After hitting festivals such as End of the Road and Latitude Festivals this summer Dolores Haze is finally back with an irresistible emotional track to enter the dancefloor of rock clubs.


EP Review: Boy From the Crowd Channels Diamonds and Glass on Where the Bees Come to Die

It’s hard to take something as raw as the blues and make it sparkle with unadulterated sheen but on Where the Bees Come to Die, Boy From the Crowd manages rather effortlessly over a mere handful of tracks. The sound never strays far from its initial source leaving the sting of the scraped soulful rock throbbing throughout the EP. Rather they find their corner in the garage, stomp it to their liking, then settle in for the long haul.


The Pharmacy #28 w/ Mick Collins (Gories), Bob Bert (Sonic Youth, Pussy Galore) & Greg Errico (Sly & the Family Stone)

Pharmacy#28 – Mick Collins(Gories).Bob Bert(Sonic Youth/Pussy Galore).Greg Errico(Sly&Family Stone) by Mr.Pharmacist on Mixcloud

In this episode Mr. Pharmacist, Gregg Foreman, brings you a special three-way show, featuring conversations with three iconic musicians.
Mick Collins: leader and founder of garage soul gurus The Gories .
Bob Bert: drummer of such classic bands as Pussy Galore, Sonic Youth, and Lydia Lunch.
Greg Errico: drummer of Sly and the Family Stone, and producer of the legendary Ms Betty Davis’ 1973 self titled release.

Album Review: Five Hundredth Year Make Shiny Bubblegum Metal Pop on A Rose From Ashes


Sometime in the late ‘90s or perhaps the early 2000s, pre-millennium tension or post-millennium relief resulted in a shimmering, shining sheen that settled upon pretty much all popular music. It was the age of American Idol and you’d expect that metal would be immune but instead, you got hyper-produced, polished metal bands. It wasn’t just rap-infused nu metal acts like Limp Bizkit that emanated this cologne-soaked veneer. We were also introduced to futuristic pop metal groups like Linkin Park who flirted with the more accessible elements of industrial, synth pop, and future pop while still throwing in an occasional scream, the sonic equivalent of a sports car speeding erratically through a school zone. This reverence for prowess and commercial appeal adds a glossiness to Five Hundredth Year’s latest full length A Rose from Ashes. While some metal bands may recoil from any association with the culture that spawned American Idol, Five Hundredth Year seem to embrace their mainstream pop metal potential.



SINGLE REVIEW: viseMènn Perfect the Art of Moping on “Begging You Please”


The latest single from Norway’s viseMènn find the band carefully exploring the cavernous hollows of atmospheric mope rock. Crestfallen guitar and softly glowing moonlit synth hang loosely from the frame of a skeletal scarecrow frame of drumming, swelling and collapsing as if tumbled and tussled by a lazy yet insistent breeze. “Begging You Please” is somehow emotionally vulnerable and casually disconnected at the same time, with pleading vocals seeming to disassociate from the poltergeists of music rising and falling in the expanses between. The track hangs heavy with an emotional weariness mirrored in the staggering, stumbling beat as the song, drunken and depressed, collapses face first yet sinks through the floorboards in a light, semi-corporeal dream state; unharmed save for a touch of despair.





ALBUM REVIEW: Of Comforts and Coffee Shops with Andy Evans’ Miracle


Miracle, the latest full length by singer-songwriter Andy Evans is a genre-blurring album not in that it confounds preceding recordings so much but rather that it’s so safe that it’s hard to define. It’s not offensive music in the slightest, played with competence and certain to be welcomed on the speakers of upper middle class coffee shops with a safe jazzy fusion of rock and soul.


ALBUM REVIEW: Opium Denn Take a Trip on Demarkation


Opium Denn come steeped in their own mythos, highlighted by warnings that their use of HEV (Health-Science Enhanced Vibrations) may lead to seizures. With that in mind, I’m somewhat disappointed by how innocuous Demarkation, their debut full length, comes across. It’s billed as a concept album of sorts, though it’s much easier to connect the dots melodically and in general aesthetic than to determine the themes lyrically. It’s difficult to imagine seizures stemming from the loose fluidity of guitars and expansive notes echoing across cavernous compositions. There’s so much room for these songs to breathe that they eventually surpass relaxation and land more in a sort of listless, drugged state.