Crystal Soda Cream Releases Work & Velocity


“Welcome welcome, take a dive.” On their by now 4th release CRYSTAL SODA CREAM yet again prove to know how to pull out all the stops: shimmering cold & toxic, passionate & sharp tongued, claustrophobic & elegantly wasted with usual aplomb.

This time in addition: bilingual – english & german! By revealing “Work & Velocity” this Vienna threesome – Theresa Adamski (dr, keys, voc), Philipp Forthuber (voc, guit) and Sebastian Ploier (bass) – bears a distinct breed of post punk, that is not just a zealous reflection of the cold, old days in a cloudy mirror, much rather CSC manage to forge a bridge between a thoroughly thought through reminiscence of stylistic device and the framing of a paramountly contemporary statement. So why mention Rowland S. Howard, Geisterfahrer or Au Pairs?


Michael Zaxxon “My Body Is Dead” out on April 8.


michael zaxxxon. Michael Zaxxon. MICHAEL ZAXXON! M.I.C.H.A.E.L. fucking Z.A.X.X.O.N!!!

So what is this you ask? Well, it’s the sound of something called LOVE… something with HEART…and no, perhaps not soul, but if we did have did have a soul we would put it RIGHT HERE. For you. For us. For the sake of absolutely nothing but the pure joy if being HERE and doing THIS right NOW. Yes! What you call a personal insult we call ART… a thing of BEAUTY.


avoid!avoid Release Particle and Wave


Today (April 1) avoid!avoid release Particle And Wave on Flying Nun Records

While relatively new, the three-piece have already released an EP (Low Earth Orbit) and opened for the likes of The Fall and High Dependency Unit. Now, they are making their recorded debut album in the form of Particle and Wave. The six track release has been described as “psychospheric goodness” and it is really no surprise considering the band’s line up, featuring keyboardist and vocalist Sonya Waters (Fang and White Swan Black Swan) along with guitarist Stephen Reay and Brendan Moran (The Hasselhoff Experiment) from former Flying Nun act The Subliminals.


Peter Jefferies & Jono Lonie – At Swim 2 Birds Re-Issue Announced


Re-issued on vinyl for the first time since it’s 1987 release, At Swim 2 Birds is a sonically rich and ever expanding collaboration between Peter Jefferies (This Kind Of Punishment) and Dunedin folk musician Jono Lonie.

Titled after the surreal Flann O’Biren novel, this album is a varied affair from piano-scapes, ambient noise, minimalism to experimental moods and homemade instruments. All seeking out free combinations that act as both antithesis and co-existence.


Out Today: A Shoreline Dream ‘Revolvist’


Revelations into the upcoming album continue to resonate from US based progressive shoegazers A Shoreline Dream with the latest single/video titled “Revolvist”. Inspired by sounds of music past while longing for something to trudge through the snowy months with, the song itself is a bass-driven, goth influenced dance number from vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Ryan Policky.

During a month-long stint locked away for the early winter, “Revolvist” made it’s way from this half coherant dream, into a full-on explosion of sound ready to be leaked out to fans ‘in real time’, as the album remains in the works. “Revolvist” is the second single to be revealed from the forthcoming LP, following up “Time Is A Machine Gun”, a track that Stereo Embers Magazine ranked at as #8 best track of 2015.




Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs, Divine Fits) recently announced the debut album for his band Operators, titled Blue Wave, out worldwide April 1st on Last Gang Records. Having already shared the first single, “Cold Light,” which Consequence of Sounddescribed as “guitar-slung aggression that is simultaneously danceable yet foreboding,” the band invites you to hear their icy soul/kraut rock jam title track, “Blue Wave.”

Recently, “Cold Light” saw early adds at XMU, KEXP (Seattle, WA), KUTX (Austin, TX), WFUV (New York, NY), and is currently on the Spotify US Top 50 Viral Chart, garnering more than 100k listens over the weekend.


Mind Spiders Announce “Prosthesis”, Unveil First Single


Dirtnap Records has announced a new Mind Spiders LP coming out on March 11th, and unveiled a track from the album (see AV Club debut)…

Prosthesis is the fourth album in 5 years from Mark Ryan’s shadowy, shape-shifting “solo” band.  Based in Ft. Worth, TX, Mind Spider’s launched pretty much immediately after Mark’s last project, the well-loved, highly-influential Marked Men went on indefinite hiatus at the beginning of 2009.


Stella Diana Drops New Single ‘Mira’ from “Alhena’ EP, Named 6th Best Release of 2015


Stella Diana has announced ‘Mira’ as their new single. This track comes from the band’s vast, compelling ‘Alhena’ EP, which was named the Sixth Best Release of 2015 byStereo Embers Magazine. The 5-track EP is available through Italy’s Vipchoyo Sound Factory label. The first single ‘Shohet’ foreshadows a release full of melodic gems. Tracks spirit you into a state of bliss, underpinned with a harmonic complexity that both beguiles and entrances. Meet your new favourite Italian band.

Stella Diana are Dario Torre (vocals and guitar), Giacomo Salzano (bass guitar),Raffaele Bocchetti (guitar), and Davide Fusco (drums). This EP was mixed and mastered by Marc Joy of Lights That Change and Alexander Kretov of Ummagma.


Diät streams “Positive Energy” LP in its entirety, out this week on Iron lung / ADAGIO830


Brought together by a shared enthusiasm for bleak UK punk and a history of playing in hardcore bands, Berlin based Diät have created a sound that they have described, perhaps not entirely seriously, as ‘tough new wave’.  Fans of Crisis, Killing Joke and The Mob should be pleased by the band’s unlikely synthesis of depressive drift and cranked, accelerated energy.

Their debut LP, Positive Energy, will be released this week on Iron Lung Records in the US and Adagio830 in Europe.